Call The Doctor Sleater-Kinney

Call the Doctor

Regular price $20.00 Save $-20.00
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Only 1 items in stock!
The wildly acclaimed and influential band Sleater-Kinney - formed in Olympia, Washington in 1994 - consisted of a core line-up of Corin Tucker (vocals and guitar), Carrie Brownstein (guitar and vocals) and Janet Weiss (drums). Over the course of a breakneck seven albums in ten years, Sleater-Kinney took rock music in a new direction combining raw punk energy and an unabashedly political stance. Time magazine's Greil Marcus called Sleater-Kinney "America’s best rock band" while Rob Sheffield went a step further hailing them as "America's best punk band ever" in Rolling Stone.

Call the Doctor is Sleater-Kinney's heavily praised 1996 sophomore set, produced by John Goodmanson and issued on independent label Chainsaw. Retaining the same line-up as their first outing of Corin Tucker (vocals/guitar), Carrie Brownstein (guitar/ vocals) and Lora Macfarlane (drums/vocals), Call the Doctor ups the ante in almost everyway from their debut with dynamic arrangements, tight melodies, powerful riffs, and evocative vocals that wonderfully elevate both the attitude and emotion of the material. 

The album has been freshly remastered by Greg Calbi for this release. This reissue coincides with Sub Pop’s October 2014 release of remastered versions of Sleater-Kinney’s six other full-length albums, as well as a limited-edition, deluxe vinyl box set featuring all seven albums

Greg Calbi: "For such ferocious music, it was actually a very delicate process. I found, in dealing with one of the earlier albums, that my signal path and compression, including my Burl B2 convertor, gave me a more resonant, deeper sound on the guitars than the originals. Because the band rarely, if ever, used bass, I felt that this added to the aggressiveness and power of the band overall. I believe this treatment added a subtle, yet important, dimension to the band, and I explored each of the other albums with the same intention. Above all, their music, from inception, stands the test of time for the cleverness and emotional impact they brought to their genre."

Sleater-Kinney Call The Doctor Track Listing:

1.  Call The Doctor
2.  Hubcap
3.  Little Mouth
4.  Anonymous
5.  Stay Where You Are
6.  Good Things
7.  I Wanna Be Your Joey Ramone
8.  Taking Me Home
9.  Taste Test
10. My Stuff
11. I'm Not Waiting
12. Heart Attack