Katy Kirby Cool Dry Place

Cool Dry Place (Coke Bottle Clear Vinyl)

Regular price $23.00 Save $-23.00

Only 2 items in stock!

Cool Dry Place is the debut full-length album from Texas-bred, Nashville-based indie rocker, Katy Kirby. The nine songs here are equal parts driving indie-pop and artful folk songwriting in the vein of Waxahatchee, Lucy Dacus, and Frankie Cosmos. Intimate, vulnerable lyrics give way to anthemic choruses, true earworm, and memorable vocal melodies. The songs are miscellaneous in subject (motherhood, late capitalism, disintegrating relationships), but unified by the angle from which they're told, from a person re-learning to process life with intense attention. Each song is a catalog of fragments, the number of segments in an orange or the cut of an obsessively worn shirt, distilled into meditations on the bizarre and microscopic exchanges that make up modern life - a relationship splintering, an uncomfortable pause, an understanding finally found. These emotional dioramas are moderated by the angular storytelling that unites Gillian Welch and Phoebe Bridgers, a favor for the conventions of short fiction over confession.

  1. Eyelids
  2. Juniper
  3. Peppermint
  4. Traffic!
  5. Tap Twice
  6. Secret Language
  7. Portals
  8. Cool Dry Place
  9. Fireman