Jade Bird Different Kinds of Light Album

Different Kinds of Light

Regular price $28.00 Save $-28.00

Only 2 items in stock!

Acclaimed young British singer-songwriter Jade Bird returns with her sophomore record, Different Kinds of Light. The RCA studios in Nashville and the North American country/alt-rock music scene feature heavily in the life cycle of this new album as that's where Jade majoritively recorded Different Kinds of Light with powerhouse producer Dave CobbIn the studio with Cobb, the two let Jade's sound find its groove, joining tough 90s alt-rock and the melodicism of Blur and Oasis at their sweetest to the taut rattle of Iggy Pop's "The Passenger." There's also the spirit of Fleetwood Mac's pop epics. Stevie Nicks' "Storms" inspired Different Kinds of Light's title track, written in summer 2019 while Jade toured the US with Jason Isbell and Father John Misty. 

On the record Jade says, "Different Kinds of Light at its most basic is about falling in love, and at its most complex, the chaos of trying to get away from your past. I've written about fictional characters, about myself and people who don't exist or at least only exist in my mind, memory and imagination. This record started in Japan, a small getaway from a busy year. We took it to Mexico, to Nashville and to upstate New York adding pieces of songs along the way until it became the different phases of who I am, what my relationship is and what my relationship to other people has become. It's been a big exploration through evenings and mornings spent under strange skies. With Different Kinds of Light came different kinds of clarity in my life."


  1. DKOL
  2. Open up the heavens
  3. Honeymoon
  4. Punchline
  5. Different Kinds Of Light
  6. Trick Mirror
  7. I'm Getting Lost
  8. Houdini


  1. 1994
  2. Now is the Time
  3. Candidate
  4. Red White and Blue
  5. Rely On
  6. Prototype