I'll Be Your Mirror: A Tribute to The Velvet Underground & Nico (Yellow Vinyl, Indie Exclusive)

I'll Be Your Mirror: A Tribute to The Velvet Underground & Nico (Yellow Vinyl, Indie Exclusive)

Regular price $42.00 Save $-42.00

Only 2 items in stock!

Contemporary Tribute to the Velvets Legendary Debut Overseen and Executive Produced by Hal Willner with Contributions from Iggy Pop, Michael Stipe, St. Vincent, Kurt Vile, Thurston Moore, Sharon Van Etten and Andrew Bird!

I'll Be Your Mirror: A Tribute to the Velvet Underground & Nico, is a contemporary tribute to the Velvets legendary debut, with each of the album's songs performed by one of the band's noteworthy artistic descendants. Featured artists include Kurt Vile & the Violators, Sharon Van Etten, Iggy Pop & Matt Sweeney, Michael Stipe, Matt Berninger of The National, Courtney Barnett, St. Vincent & Thomas Bartlett, Thurston Moore & Bobby Gillespie, King Princess, Fontaines D.C. and Andrew Bird & Lucious.

Issued on Verve Records, the original label home of The Velvet Underground, I'll Be Your Mirror was overseen and executive produced by Hal Willner, Lou Reed's dear friend, and producer who passed away last year. Willner was a master of the tribute album, with each project he worked on extending the magnitude of the artist or work under consideration. In particular, he very much viewed himself as a primary curator of Reed's legacy, and the care and love he felt for his friend's work is evident in every note on I'll Be Your Mirror. Fittingly – and sadly – it is the last album he worked on.

  1. "Sunday Morning" – Michael Stipe
  2. "I'm Waiting For The Man" – Matt Berninger
  3. "Femme Fatale" – Sharon Van Etten
  4. "Venus In Furs" – Andrew Bird & Lucius
  5. "Run Run Run" – Kurt Vile
  6. "All Tomorrow's Parties" – St. Vincent & Thomas Bartlett
  7. "Heroin" – Thurston Moore & Bobby Gillespie
  8. "There She Goes Again" – King Princess
  9. "I'll Be Your Mirror" – Courtney Barnett
  10. "The Black Angel's Death Song" – Fontaines D.C.
  11. "European Son" – Iggy Pop & Matt Sweeney