Big Star #1 Record on vinyl

#1 Record

Regular price $33.00 Save $-33.00
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Only 1 items in stock!


Originally released in 1972, #1 Record is the debut album from Big Star, a critically acclaimed, Memphis-based band often credited with creating the power pop sound. Remastered from the analog stereo masters, this reissue will allow fans to appreciate #1 Record as a standalone album. This is the first time in many years that this version of the album will be sold independently of Big Star’s second album, Radio City.

#1 Record is the only Big Star album that has the combined writing power of both founders, Alex Chilton and Chris Bell. Chilton and Bell employed a Lennon/McCartney style of collaborative songwriting—Chilton taking a visceral approach, often laying down guitar and vocal tracks in one take, while Bell added polish with overdubs and harmonies.

Rolling Stone included it in their “500 Greatest Albums of All Time” list, while the publication included song “Thirteen” in their “500 Greatest Songs of All Time” list the following year.

This reissue comes during a time of resurgence for Big Star, a band whose legacy has been widely recognized as of late, with a tribute record (Big Star Small World, 2006), a documentary (2012’s Nothing Can Hurt Me) and a touring live show, “Big Star’s Third,” which features the sole-surviving original member of the band, Jody Stephens, on drums, guest vocalists, a chamber orchestra and a core band including Mike Mills, Chris Stamey of The dB’s, The Posies’ Ken Stringfellow and others. The ever-changing ense

In his liner notes, Mike Mills calls Big Star “a band who had gotten it right, who made records that sounded like rock and roll bands should sound".


  • 1 Feel
  • 2 The Ballad of El Goodo
  • 3 In the Street
  • 4 Thirteen
  • 5 Don't Lie to Me
  • 6 The India Song
  • 7 When My Baby's Beside Me
  • 8 My Life Is Right
  • 9 Give Me Another Chance
  • 10 Try Again
  • 11 Watch the Sunrise
  • 12 St 100/6

You may also like