Automatic For The People (Indie Exclusive, Yellow Vinyl, Limited Edition)

Automatic For The People (Indie Exclusive, Yellow Vinyl, Limited Edition)

Regular price $33.00 Save $-33.00
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Only 3 items in stock!

25th Anniversary 180g Vinyl Pressing Remastered from the Original Analog Tapes

25 years ago, firmly ensconced as U.S. rock royalty, R.E.M. unleashed the album many count as their defining moment in Autumn 1992. The legendary Automatic For The People stood alone at a time when many of the other great alternative acts had packed up, filling any void with the likes of "Drive" (referencing both David Essex's "Rock On" and any of Queen's stop-start stadium fillers), the Andy Kaufman homage "Man On The Moon," the oblique "The Sidewinder Sleeps Tonight" and the deliberately heavy angst of "Everybody Hurts," a song that managed to appeal to woebegone adolescents and wannabe-young-again oldsters, with John Paul Jones' orchestral arrangement increasing the emotional overload.

Whatever the formula, it certainly worked: sales off the scale, constant airplay, non-stop five-star reviews, and bigger and bigger live shows. Not too shabby when one considers the album was conceived during a dark time, and dealt with genuinely traumatic reflections on suicide, mortality and the harsh fact that everyone is going to reach the finishing line at some point.

Commemorating Automatic For The People's 25th Anniversary, this 180 gram vinyl edition features the full original album, remastered from the original analog tapes and an accompanying digital download card.

  1. Drive
  2. Try Not to Breathe
  3. The Sidewinder Sleeps Tonite
  4. Everybody Hurts
  5. New Orleans Instrumental No. 1
  6. Sweetness Follows
  7. Monty Got a Raw Deal
  8. Ignoreland
  9. Star Me Kitten
  10. Man on the Moon
  11. Nightswimming
  12. Find the River

You may also like