Call Me

Call Me

Regular price $31.00 Save $-31.00
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Only 1 items in stock!

50th Anniversary Vinyl LP Reissue with Lacquers Cut from the Original Master Tapes by Ryan Smith at Sterling Sound

2023 marks the 50th anniversary of Al Green's Call Me, and to celebrate, Hi Records/Fat Possum will reissue the 1973 R&B classic on vinyl with lacquers cut from the original master tapes by Ryan Smith at Sterling Sound. A combination of 'sweet' and 'funky' is certainly the secret to Al Green's gloriously sentimental and sensual pop songs. Green's subtly controlled falsetto, which he tones right to the threshold of audibility, swings along gently always anchoring the proceedings. However, this sublime set also belts out some fiery sounds right from the very first number. The sinuous, swinging request in the brilliant hit single "Call Me," the relaxed and groovy "Stand Up" with its sharp wind interjections which demand one's unerring attention, are typical of Green's style, just as is his almost disturbing capability to gain comfort from loneliness ("I'm So Lonesome, I Could Cry"). This rhythmically powered music can best be described as light, intensive, dynamic but never flashy ("Your Love Is Like The Morning Sun") and it finds its earthly culmination in soul ("Jesus Is Waiting") and spiritual depth.

  1. Call Me
  2. Have You Been Making Out Okay
  3. Stand Up
  4. I'm So Lonesome I Could Cry
  5. Your Love Is Like The Morning Sun
  6. Here I Am (Come and Take Me)
  7. Funny How Time Slips Away
  8. You Ought To Be With Me
  9. Jesus Is Waiting

You may also like