Sufjan Stevens Carrie and Lowell

Carrie & Lowell

Regular price $22.00 Save $-22.00
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Carrie & Lowell (Asthmatic Kitty) is the newest offering from pop-art singer/songwriter Sufjan Stevens. These are aggressive times. Each morning we awaken to a psychic blitz of breaking news, social outrage, and millions of images and voices shrieking look at me and this onslaught does not cease until late at night when the last glowing screen fades to black. 

This world demands our attention with one hand and destroys it with the other. That such a noisy age can deliver an album as graceful and honest as Carrie & Lowell should reassure anyone losing faith these days. Let no one say philosophy is dead, for here is a 44-minute meditation on mortality, memory, and faith.

Carrie & Lowell sounds like memory: it spans decades yet does not trade on pastiche or nostalgia. Stevens’ gauzy double-tracked vocals wash across the dashboard of long-finned, drop-top Americana, yet as we race towards the coast we are reminded that sunshine leads to shadow, for this is a landscape of terminal roads, unsteady bridges, traumatic video stores, and unhappy beds that provide the scenery for tales of jackknifed cars, funerals, and forgiveness for the dead. 

Each track in this collection of eleven songs begins with a fragile melody that gathers steam until it becomes nothing less than a modern hymn. Sufjan recounts the indignities of our world, of technological distraction and sad sex, of an age without either myth or miracle - and this time around, his voice carries the burden of wisdom. If youth knew, if age could.

Sufjan Stevens Carrie And Lowell Track Listing:

1.  Death With Dignity 
2.  Should Have Known Better 
3.  All Of Me Wants All Of You 
4.  Drawn to the Blood 
5.  Eugene 
6.  Fourth of July 
7.  The Only Thing 
8.  Carrie & Lowell 
9.  John My Beloved 
10. No Shade in the Shadow of The Cross 
11. Blue Bucket of Gold

You may also like