Controlled By Hatred / Feel Like Shit...deja Vu (Colored Vinyl, Pink, Indie Exclusive)

Controlled By Hatred / Feel Like Shit...deja Vu (Colored Vinyl, Pink, Indie Exclusive)

Regular price $29.00 Save $-29.00
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Only 2 items in stock!

Judging from their name, Suicidal Tendencies were never afraid of a little controversy. Formed in Venice, CA, during the early '80s, the group's leader from the beginning was outspoken vocalist Mike Muir. The outfit specialized in vicious hardcore early on - building a huge following among skateboarders, lending a major hand in the creation of skatepunk - before turning their focus eventually to thrash metal. Early on, the group found it increasingly difficult to book shows, due to rumors of its members' affiliation with local gangs and consistent violence at their performances.

The underground buzz regarding Suicidal Tendencies grew too loud for labels to ignore though, as the quartet signed on with the indie label Frontier; issuing Muir and company's classic self-titled debut in 1983. The album quickly became the best-selling hardcore album up to that point; its best-known track, "Institutionalized," was one of the first hardcore punk videos to receive substantial airplay on MTV. 1987 saw the release of Suicidal's sophomore release, Join the Army, which spawned another popular skatepunk anthem, "Possessed to Skate." 

Soon after, Suicidal was finally offered a major-label contract with Epic. Third album 1988's How Will I Laugh Tomorrow When I Can't Even Smile Today, showed that their transformation from hardcore to heavy metal was now complete, as did a compilation of two earlier EPs, 1989's Controlled by Hatred/Feel Like Shit Déjà Vu which marked Robert Trujillo's debut with Suicidal Tendencies and was their first of three albums to go gold. 

A must have for any Suicidal Tendencies fan, Controlled By Hatred/Feel Like Shit Deja Vu has been out of press since its original release in 1989. Now it's back on vinyl with this limited edition colored 180-gram pressing from ORG.

1. Master Of No Mercy
2. How Will I Laugh Tomorrow
3. Just Another Love Song
4. Waking The Dead
5. Controlled By Hatred
6. Choosing My Own Way Of Life
7. Feel Like Shit...Deja-Vu
8. It's Not Easy
9. How Will I Laugh Tomorrow (Heavy Emotion Version)

You may also like