Eric B. & Rakim Album

Don't Sweat the Technique

Regular price $29.00 Save $-29.00
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Only 2 items in stock!

Legendary hip-hop duo Eric B. & Rakim first formed in Long Island, NY, in 1985. The premier DJ/MC team, not only was their chemistry superb, but individually, each represented the absolute state of the art in their respective skills. Between 1987 and 1992, they released four acclaimed albums, the platinum-selling Paid In Full (1987), Follow The Leader (1988), Let The Rhythm Hit ‘Em (1990) and Don't Sweat The Technique (1992).

Paid In Full caused a stir in the hip-hop music world due to its novel sound, approach, and subject matter. Their songs were the first to really impart hip-hop music lyrics with a serious poetic device sensibility while their gritty, heavy, and dark beats, marked the beginning of heavy sampling in hip-hop records. As a disc jockey, Eric B. reinstated the art of live turntable mixing and his soul-filled sampling became influential in future hip hop production. The dynamic duo's unprecedented five-year run ended with their fourth and final album to date, Don't Sweat the Technique which found them going out on top with hip-hop masterpieces like the title cut, "The Punisher," "Casualties Of War," and Juice theme song "Know The Ledge."

Eric B. & Rakim reunited in 2017 for a string of one-off shows commemorating the 30th anniversary of Paid in Full. In 2018 they will undertake their first major tour together since their initial break up in 1993.

  1. What's On Your Mind 
  2. Teach The Children 
  3. Pass The Hand Grenade
  4. Casualties Of War
  5. Rest Assured
  6. The Punisher
  7. Relax With Pep
  8. Keep The Beat
  9. What's Going On
  10. Know The Ledge
  11. Don't Sweat The Technique
  12. Kick Along

You may also like