Purge (Colored Vinyl, Silver, Gold)

Purge (Colored Vinyl, Silver, Gold)

Regular price $34.00 Save $-34.00
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Only 1 items in stock!

With the highly anticipated new album PURGE, Godflesh revisits and updates the concepts of PURE (1992), as well as bringing a whole host of new dirges and laments. Amongst the many layers of dirt, PURGE mangles 90s hip hop grooves and puts them through the Godflesh filter to create something futuristic in style - and utterly unique, just as ‘Pure’ was upon it’s release in 1992. Both minimal and maximal, Godflesh deliver alien grooves that swing whilst also retaining the psychedelic, bad trip edge with layer upon layer of filth and heaviness - that Godflesh have always been known for. This is, and always has been, feel-bad music. The title alone - PURGE - references directly how songwriter and creator Justin K. Broadrick utilizes Godflesh's music as a temporary relief from his diagnosed autism and PTSD. It's the next stage in a journey he has been on since he began creating music, feeling alone and like an outsider in any scene or group, from childhood through to adulthood. The music of Godflesh gives Broadrick the means to express a lifetime of feeling misunderstood and overwhelmed by hyper-sensitivity. The band is the vehicle to provide some sense of catharsis and transcendence; a way of communicating overload, as well as the constant disenchantment at the human condition, and man's abuse of power and the systems that chain us. PURGE references the cycle of horror that man always has and always will put us through; those in positions of power revel in the infliction of pain and horror upon individuals - in the name of their religion, their power, their money, their flags... PURGE is 8 songs, delivered in a concise fashion for fellow outsiders.

  • 1 Nero
  • 2 Land Lord
  • 3 Army of Non
  • 4 Lazarus Leper
  • 5 Permission
  • 6 The Father
  • 7 Mythology of Self
  • 8 You Are the Judge, the Jury, and the Executioner

You may also like