Shake Your Money Maker (2020 Remaster)

Shake Your Money Maker (2020 Remaster)

Regular price $32.00 Save $-32.00
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Only 1 items in stock!

30th Anniversary Vinyl LP Reissue with 2020 Remastered Audio!

1990's Shake Your Money Maker is the triple platinum debut album from The Black Crowes and the brothers Robinson named after Elmore James' classic blues number of the same name. Issued on Rick Rubin's Def American Recordings and produced by George Drakoulias, the blistering 10-song throwback is awash in vocal swagger and guitar hooks. One doesn't have to listen hard to pick up the breadcrumb trail of influences ranging from 60s and 70s groups like Aerosmith, The Rolling Stones, the Allman Brothers, to Faces and the Doobie Brothers. Picking up where their predecessors left off, the Crowes were equally adept at blending rock, soul, country and gospel into something that felt new and electric.

With swagger to spare, the very first track opens the album as a declaration and a promise to rock "Twice As Hard." From the screeching sounds of a car crash on "Thick N' Thin" to Rich Robinson's wondrous dexterity on "Struttin Blues," the whole album has that lighting in a bottle feeling and the raw energy of a live band who can't be contained. But the real success of the album relied upon a pair of No.1 mainstream rock singles, "She Talks to Angels" and "Hard To Handle," which reached the top spot on the Billboard Album Rock Tracks chart and No.26 on the Billboard Hot 100.

Shake Your Money Maker was evidence of a band that was mature beyond their years and primed to take their place in rock history rather than just study it. Original album remastered in 2020.

  1. Twice As Hard
  2. Jealous Again
  3. Sister Luck
  4. Could I've Been So Blind
  5. Seeing Things
  6. Hard to Handle
  7. Thick n' Thin
  8. She Talks to Angels
  9. Struttin' Blues
  10. Stare It Cold
  11. Mercy, Sweet Moan

You may also like