The Libertines

The Libertines

Regular price $26.00 Save $-26.00
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Only 1 items in stock!

The Libertines The Libertines On Vinyl LP

Rock'n'roll can pretty much burn off pure mythology alone, but what happens when the soap opera of drug abuse and broken friendships threatens to overwhelm the music? That's the problem the Libertines' eponymous second LP faced and while it sometimes struggles to live up to the magic of its predecessor, 2002's Up the Bracket, it's still peppered with enough inspiration to explain why people still care about this band. Co-frontmen Carl Barat and Pete Doherty tackle their problems head on with the opening "Can't Stand Me Now," an anthemic, harmonica-accompanied number with echoes of the Cure's "Lovecats," that sees Barat sum up The Libertines' troubled history in the album's most quotable line: "The boy kicked out at the world/ The world kicked back a lot f***ing harder." Further rollicking numbers include the Barat-sung "Narcissist" and knockabout closer "What Became of the Likely Lads?" as well as the hoarse, off-key "Don't Be Shy" which features Doherty at the helm.

The Libertines The Libertines Track Listing

1. Can't Stand Me Now 
2. Last Post On The Bugle 
3. Don't Be Shy 
4. The Man Who Would Be King 
5. Music When The Lights Go Out 
6. Narcissist 
7. The Ha Ha Wall 
8. Arbeit Macht Frei 
9. Campaign Of Hate 
10. What Katie Did 
11. Tomblands 
12. The Saga 
13. Road To Ruin 
14. What Became Of The Likely Lads

You may also like