Art Blakey "Chippin In"

Chippin In (Clear Vinyl)

Regular price $36.00 Save $-36.00
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Only 1 items in stock!

Released on the legendary Dutch jazz label Timeless Records, Chippin' In features ten sublime tracks recorded at Rudy van Gelder's Recording Studio in February 1990. Although Art Blakey passed away just eight months after these tracks were cut you certainly can't tell by the performances. For these specific recordings, The Jazz Messengers were expanded from its usual quintet or sextet into a septet and they showcase their energetic signature sound with remarkable style, musical knowledge, a dash of good humor and camaraderie you'd expect from a world-class outfit. The line-up on these fantastic sessions includes non-other than Essiet Okon, Geoff Keezer, Dale Barlow, Javon Jackson, Frank Lacy, Steve Davis and Brian Lynch...impressive to say the least!

Tidal Waves Music proudly presents the first ever vinyl release of Art Blakey and The Jazz Messengers' Chippin' In on deluxe colored 180g vinyl 2LP with an obi strip. The jacket features exclusive session pics shot by legendary Dutch photographer Joost Leijen (known for his work with artists such as Chet Baker and Pharoah Sanders), plus an insert with liner notes by renowned author and producer Russ Musto. Chippin' In sounds as vibrant as ever here! Expect supercharged hard bop with striking notes, no-holds-barred musicianship, high swinging solos, screaming choruses and plenty of solid virtuosity to spare. This electrifying set of tracks contains both originals and several eclectic versions of standards...making this release a bonafide hit and a must-have for any self-respecting jazz fan or collector.

Art Blakey, drums
Essiet Okon, bass
Geoff Keezer, piano
Dale Barlow / Javon Jackson, tenor saxophone
Frank Lacy / Steve Davis, trombone
Brian Lynch, trumpet

• Deluxe colored 180g vinyl 2LP
• First time on the format
• Includes obi strip
• Exclusive session pics shot by Dutch photographer Joost Leijen
• Insert with liner notes by renowned author and producer Russ Musto

  1. Brain Stormin'
  2. Byrdflight
  3. Hammerhead
  4. Aquarius Rising
  5. Kay Pea
  6. Chippin' In
  7. Raincheck
  8. Chandek's Den
  9. Kenji's Walk
  10. Love Walked In

You may also like