F#A# Godspeed You! Black Emperor

F#A# (Infinity)

Regular price $26.00 Save $-26.00
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Godspeed You! Black Emperor F# A# on LP

F# A#
 was recorded at the original Hotel2Tango in the spring of 1997 on a rented 16-track tape deck and supplemented with various field recordings. In the preceding year, Godspeed You! Black Emperor had taken shape as a quasi-orchestral outfit involving most of the players that would go on to make three more records and tour the world many times. This is the first recorded document of Godspeed as a large band and it is soaring, fragile, awkward, heartbreaking stuff. 

Constellation released a vinyl-only pressing of 500 copies in August of 1997, with LP jackets hand made by the label, the band, and various local artisans. It has since gone through dozens of re-presses, with virtually all of the original packaging elements preserved. The opening monologue on Side One ("Dead Flag Blues") is taken from Incomplete Movie About Jail, an unfinished film by Efrim.

“Existential Morricone-esque soundscapes, wrought by desolate guitar twang, echoey dobro slide, sweetly mournful violin and cello, and an astonishingly patient rhythm section.” -  Magnet

“An album of soothing, repetitious beauty.” - NME

Godspeed You! Black Emperor F# A# Track Listing:

1. Nervous, Sad, Poor
2. Bleak, Uncertain, Beautiful

You may also like