I Love You, Honeybear Vinyl

I Love You, Honeybear

Regular price $28.00 Save $-28.00
Shipping calculated at checkout.

"I Love You, Honeybear was recorded intermittently from 2013 to 2014 in Echo Park, Los Angeles and produced with Jonathan Wilson, whom I also recorded and produced 2012’s Fairly Fun with. There’s a case to be made that it sounds and acts a bit like solo-era John Lennon, Scott Walker, Randy Newman, Harry Nilsson, and Dory Previn, while taking more than a few cues from Woody Allen, Kurt Vonnegut, Alejandro Jodorowsky and Muhammad Ali. 

"It has a decidedly more soulful presence than Fear Fun, due in no small part to the fact that I am truly singing my ass off all over this motherfucker. The album is really characterized by the scope and ambition of the arrangements. Nearly every tune is augmented by something special, be it orchestral strings, a mariachi band, questionable electronic drum solos, ragtime jazz combos, soul singers, or what have you. I’m pretty sure there’s a sitar in there somewhere.

"My ambition, aside from making an indulgent, soulful, and epic sound worthy of the subject matter, was to address the sensuality of fear, the terrifying force of love, the unutterable pleasures of true intimacy, and the destruction of emotional and intellectual prisons in my own voice. This material demanded a new way of being made, and it took a lot of time before the process revealed itself. 

"The massive, deranged shmaltz I heard in my head, and knew had to be the sound of this record, originated a few years ago while Emma and I were hallucinating in Joshua Tree; the same week I wrote the title track. I chased that sound for the entire year and half we were recording. The means by which it was achieved bore a striking resemblance to the travails, abandon and transformation of loving someone. There: I said it." - Josh Tillman aka Father John Misty

I Love You, Honeybear was produced by Josh Tillman and Jonathan Wilson, mixed by Phil Ek, and mastered by Greg Calbi. This standard black vinyl edition comes housed in gatefold jacket and includes a fold out poster, listening instructions and an accompanying MP3 download coupon.

Father John Misty I Love You Honeybear Track Listing:

1.  I Love You, Honeybear
2.  Chateau Lobby #4 (in C for Two Virgins)
3.  True Affection
4.  The Night Josh Tillman Came to Our Apt.
5.  When You’re Smiling and Astride Me
6.  Nothing Good Ever Happens at the Goddamn Thirsty Crow
7.  Strange Encounter
8.  The Ideal Husband
9.  Bored in the USA
10. Holy Shit
11. I Went to the Store One Day

You may also like