U2 October Album


Regular price $27.00 Save $-27.00
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Only 1 items in stock!

1981's October saw U2 rising not only to the usual challenges of proving that you're more than a one-album wonder, but to the specific pressure of creating new work as the clock ticked ever louder. Where Boy had only brushed against a mainstream audience in the UK, peaking at No. 52, October reached No. 11. "Fire" was the opening shot, and it made some noise. The song was their first hit single at home, reaching the Top 5 in Ireland, and gave U2 their first UK Top 40 entry. Next came "Gloria," the second single and the opening track. The song's Latin chorus foretold an LP with strong religious themes, but also with a developing sense of the band's songwriting maturity and instrumental dexterity. The innate percussive tension of "I Threw A Brick Through A Window" and urgency of "Rejoice" were offset by the measured, near-instrumental "Scarlet" and the affecting piano balladry of "October" itself.

  1. Gloria
  2. I Fall Down
  3. I Threw A Brick Through A Window
  4. Rejoice
  5. Fire
  6. Tomorrow
  7. October
  8. With A Shout
  9. Stranger In A Strange Land
  10. Scarlet
  11. Is That All?

You may also like