OK Human (Splatter)

OK Human (Splatter)

Regular price $22.00 Save $-22.00
Shipping calculated at checkout.

First of Two Planned 2021 Releases Finds Band Working with 39-Piece Orchestra and Drawing Influence from Beach Boys' Pet Sounds and Harry Nilsson's Nilsson Sings Newman!

Weezer follow-up 2019's Weezer aka The Black Album with their fourteenth studio album, OK Human (a nod to Radiohead‘s OK Computer), the first of two planned 2021 releases. It finds the Los Angeles quartet working with a 39-piece orchestra and frontman Rivers Cuomo taking inspiration from the likes of the Beach Boys' Pet Sounds and Harry Nilsson's Nilsson Sings Newman to create one of his most personal albums to date.

"It's all piano-based, but it has a ton of orchestration," Cuomo told Entertainment Weekly. "We just did the strings at Abbey Road. It's just gorgeous melodies and extremely eccentric lyrics." On the yearning lead single "All My Favorite Songs," Cuomo sings, "All my favorite songs are slow and sad/All my favorite people make me mad/Everything that feels so good is bad, bad, bad/All my favorite songs are slow and sad/I don't know what's wrong with me."

"OK Human was made at a time when humans-playing-instruments was a thing of the past," notes the band. "All we could do is look back on ancient times when humans really mattered and when the dark tech-takeover fantasy didn't exist. We used our instruments to connect to the 1960s and 1970s and, with the orchestra, back to the 18th and 19th centuries. We had no click track or loops or hi-tech sounds. Not even an electric guitar."

  1. All My Favorite Songs
  2. Aloo Gobi
  3. Grapes Of Wrath
  4. Numbers
  5. Playing My Piano
  6. Mirror Image
  7. Screens
  8. Bird With A Broken Wing
  9. Dead Roses
  10. Everything Happens For A Reason
  11. Here Comes The Rain
  12. La Brea Tar Pits

You may also like