Round About Midnight

Round About Midnight

Regular price $26.00 Save $-26.00
Shipping calculated at checkout.

For nearly six decades, Miles Davis has embodied all that is cool – in his music (and most especially jazz), in his art, fashion, romance, and in his international, if not intergalactic, presence that looms strong as ever today. Miles’ 30 years at Columbia was one of the longest exclusive signings in the history of jazz, and one that spanned at least a half-dozen distinct generations of changes in the music – virtually all of which were anticipated or led by Miles or his former sidemen. 

Widely acknowledged by jazz critics and aficionados as a landmark in 'hard bop' and one of the greatest jazz albums of all-time, Miles' 1956 Columbia Records debut, 'Round About Midnight showcased his first legendary quintet featuring John Coltrane, Red Garland, Paul Chambers, and Philly Joe Jones.

The music here ranges from the sublime Cole Porter standard "All Of You" with Davis employing the Harmon mute sound, to the restrained bop of "Ah-Leu-Cha" which features a Dixieland counterpoint at beginning and end, to the Paul Chambers bass showcase of "Dear Old Stockholm" and the universally loved "'Round Midnight." 180g audiophile vinyl from Sony Legacy presented in Mono with the original track listing.

Miles Davis 'Round About Midnight Track Listing:

1.    ‘Round Midnight  
2.    Ah-Leu-Cha  
3.    All Of You  
4.    Bye Bye Blackbird  
5.    Tadd’s Delight  
6.    Dear Old Stockholm

You may also like