Sell Out

Sell Out

Regular price $40.00 Save $-40.00
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Deluxe Remastered Stereo Vinyl 2LP Edition featuring the Original Album Plus 12 Bonus Tracks, Rare Photos, Poster and Track by Track Liner Notes!

Initially released in December 1967 and described latterly by Rolling Stone as "The Who's finest album" The Who Sell Out reflected a remarkable year in popular culture. As well as being forever immortalized as the moment when the counterculture and the ‘Love Generation' became a global phenomenon and ‘pop' began metamorphosing into ‘rock'. The Who Sell Out was originally planned by Pete Townshend and the band's managers, Kit Lambert and Chris Stamp, as a loose concept album including jingles and commercials linking the songs stylized as a pirate radio broadcast. This concept was born out of necessity as their label and management wanted a new album and Townshend felt that he didn't have enough songs. The ground-breaking original plan for The Who Sell Out was to sell advertising space on the album but instead the band opted for writing their own jingles, paying tribute to pirate radio stations and to parody an increasingly consumerist society.

The homage to pop art is evident in both the advertising jingles and the iconic sleeve design created by David King, then art director at the Sunday Times, and Roger Law who later created the Spitting Image TV show. The sleeve features four advertising images, taken by renowned photographer David Montgomery of each band member: Odorono deodorant (Pete Townshend), Medac spot cream (Keith Moon), Charles Atlas (John Entwistle) and Roger Daltrey, Heinz Baked Beans. The story goes that Roger Daltrey caught pneumonia from sitting in the bath of cold beans for too long.

The Who Sell Out is a bold depiction of the period in which it was made, the tail-end of the ‘swinging 60s' meets pop art mixed with psychedelia and straight-ahead pop. It's a glorious blend of classic powerful Who instrumentation, melodic harmonies, satirical lyrical imagery crystallized for what was only the group's third album. The record's ambition and scope is unrivalled by The Who, or any other act from that period. Within the bold concept, were a batch of fabulous and diverse songs. "I Can See for Miles," a top ten hit at the time, is a Who classic. "Rael," a Townshend ‘mini-opera' with musical motifs that reappeared in Tommy and the psychedelic blast of "Armenia City In The Sky" and "Relax" are among the very best material anyone wrote during the '60s. One of the most extraordinary albums of any era, The Who Sell Out is The Who's last ‘pop' album. Two years later came Tommy – a double concept album about a deaf, dumb and blind kid.

Deluxe remastered stereo vinyl 2LP edition featuring the original album plus 12 bonus tracks, rare photos, psychedelic poster and track by track liner notes. The extras are highlights from the super deluxe edition box set.

LP1 - Original Album (Stereo)

  1. Armenia City in The Sky
  2. Heinz Baked Beans
  3. Mary Anne With the Shaky Hand
  4. Odorono
  5. Tattoo
  6. Our Love Was
  7. I Can See for Miles
  8. I Can't Reach You
  9. Medac
  10. Relax
  11. Silas Stingy
  12. Sunrise
  13. Rael

LP2 - Bonus Tracks (Stereo)

  1. Mary Anne With the Shaky Hand (US single version)
  2. Someone's Coming
  3. Summertime Blues
  4. Glittering Girl
  5. Early Morning Cold Taxi
  6. Girl's Eyes
  7. Coke After Coke
  8. Sodding About
  9. Things Go Better with Coke
  10. Hall of The Mountain King
  11. Jaguar
  12. Rael (remake; IBC version)

You may also like