Regular price $28.00 Save $-28.00
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Undeniably one of the best small bands in the history of jazz, the Miles Davis quintet of the mid-1950s made history at the Cafe Bohemia on Manhattan's Barrow Street and in the New Jersey studio of Rudy Van Gelder for Prestige. This is the third in a series of four LPs taped in two marathon studio sessions, done in the style of sets at the Bohemia. Preceded by Cookin’ (OJCCD-128-2) and Relaxin’ (OJCCD-190-2), Workin’ is a mix of standards and originals, up-tempos and ballads, and a trio number, “Ahmad’s Blues.” The music this quintet made in the mid-'50s period will live forever: the excitement of the emerging John Coltrane; the informed, melodic swing of Red Garland; the tremendous snap and pop of the rhythm trio of Garland, Paul Chambers, and Philly Joe Jones; and Miles’s poignancy and intense swing.

Miles Davis Workin' Track Listing

1. It Never Entered My Mind   
2. Four   
3. In Your Own Sweet Way   
4. The Theme (Take 1)   
5. Trane's Blues   
6. Ahmad's Blues     
7. Half Nelson     
8. The Theme (Take 2)

You may also like